Last Edited 02/24/17

Orrville Fire Department

Home Page

Contact Information
Chief Robert C. Ballentine
223 North Vine Street
PO Box 144
Orrville, OH 44667

Phone: 330-684-5050

FAX: 330-684-5052

Asst. Chief - Chris Bishop
Captain - Ron Ballentine
Captain - Mike Hostetler
EMS Captain - Kevin Baldwin
Lieutenants - Jeff Lorson, Mike Bishop, Jason Vodika, Jackie Elkins and Kevin Sprowls
Foreman of Fire Apparatus - Justin Vodika

CONTACT US if you have
questions or need additional

Orrville Fire Department is required by law to maintain the privacy of certain confidential health care information, known as Protected Health Information or PHI, and to provide you with a notice of our legal duties and privacy practices with respect to your PHI.  

(For complete Notice of Privacy Practices)
(Authorization to Use and Disclose form)

Orrville Firefighters Association
Official Webpage

2017 July 4th Activities
Parade:  Tues, July 4, 2017, 4 pm
Carnival: Tues, 7/4 - Sat., 7/8/17
Fireworks:  Sat., July 8, 2017, 10:15 pm

Also check out our Fire in the Sky webpage!

Annual Report

Reflective Address Marker Order Form









Chief Robert C. Ballentine

Dan Lorson

The Firefighter of the Year award is sponsored by the Orrville Area Chamber of Commerce and is the highest tribute that can be awarded to an Orrville firefighter. All members of the fire department are eligible to be nominated for the award. The winner is chosen by a committee consisting of the last three recipients of the award.  His name will appear on a plaque at the fire station.

2015 Ron Ballentine 2016 Dan Lorson
2013 Brad Ballentine 2014 Bill Lytle
2011 Mike Chereson 2012 Justin Vodika
2009 Ryan May 2010 Bruce Ubelhart
2007 Josh Garrett 2008 Craig Hostetler
2005 Jason Vodika 2006 Kevin Sprowls
2003 Aaron Keener 2004 Richard Nester
2001 Todd Carr 2002 Bob Peter
1999 Jerry Osburn 2000 Randy Coe
1997 Charles Back 1998 Kevin Baldwin
1995 Jackie Elkins 1996 Mike Bishop
1993 Chris Bishop 1994 Jeff Lorson
1991 Mike Hostetler 1992 Bill Lytle
1989 Bill Earnsberger 1990 Ron Ballentine
1985 Stan Stuckey 1988 Bob Ballentine
1983 Gary Bender 1984 Don Musser
1981 Russel Ballentine 1982 Hollie Ferrebee


Roger Maiwurm 1980 Dave Bishop
1977 Roger Maiwurm 1978 Don Sauer

Fire Station #2 at 777 North Crown Hill Road


As early as 1855 the residents of the area had banded together to fight fires. On December 12, 1872, the Dot Fire Engine Company was organized with 36 volunteer members. At that time, the firemen manually pulled a hand pumper to the scene of a fire. On December 14, 1874, the name of the group was changed to the Monitor Fire Company. From the days of the bucket brigade and hand pumper, the firefighters of Orrville have progressed through steam pumpers and horse-drawn equipment to the modern, mobile department which responds quickly to an alarm. The building at 223 North Vine Street was dedicated in 1967, and is now known as Orrville Fire Station #1. Fire Station #2 at 777 North Crown Hill Road is newly renovated and includes a new three-bay garage, conference room, and restrooms.  Today's department has a full-time fire chief and 40 paid on-call volunteer officers and firefighters.


Photo courtesy of Marty's Studio, Wooster, Ohio.